Glitter Yarn is a Girl’s Best Friend

25 Aug

This post is giving you the 411 on “Cable Braided Necklace” pattern a non-knitting girlfriend showed me.

An accessory your girlfriends will envy

I’m gonna be honest, when I first learned about knitted jewelry I was thinking of some PRETTY ugly stuff. The kind of homemade crap even a grandmother would think twice before embarrassingly flaunting in front of her friends. I already get flack from some of my friends for knitting and I would be DAMNED if I made something ugly. Imagine my surprise when a knitting “muggle” found this pattern, shared it with me and I was impressed.

This little gem is knitted on matchsticks (aka size 4) in two strips. It is a simple enough pattern and the only stitches you need to know are K, P, YO and K2tog. I used the sport weight yarn from Lion Brand Yarn Vanna’s Choice Glamour in Jewel to make this lovely accessory.

A couple of tips on this pattern: make it longer and you have to braid it a certain way. I used the right weight yarn and followed gauge but it still knitted a little short for a necklace. I don’t have a huge neck (I hope, oh fudge, another girl complex added to the pile) it just isn’t long after braiding. I suggest doing 18-20 total repeats at least before you bind off. Leave a foot-long tail at the beginning of the second strip and at the end of the first strip. You will need long tails for the button strap and to sew on the button.

A chick could rock this at the office or work!

After I finished my strips I steamed ironed my strips (I highly suggest it for blocking it’s super quick and easy), then I started on the braiding. The directions are pretty clear on how to start but I was a little uncertain on how to braid. Here’s an easy explanation, pull the top strip though the closest unfilled hole from the last one filled and pull through the bottom strip. You do this every time for each hole and always top pull through the bottom strip.

Not a bad way to spend a sickly couple of days,
-Stacy C.

2 Responses to “Glitter Yarn is a Girl’s Best Friend”

  1. Nancy Burk August 25, 2011 at 6:15 PM #

    pretty project. LOVE that Vanna Glamour yarn…..knitting ‘muggle’ – that’s cute!

    • theyarnfix August 25, 2011 at 6:39 PM #

      I thought it was a simile everyone could get ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

