These Pop-Overs are for Wearing, NOT Eating

16 Dec

Whilst you can’t eat these “pop-overs” I know you’ll still love them.

I made a pair of these “#53 Flip-Top Mittens” by Patti Pierce with Hobby Lobby’s “I love this yarn!” in Grey Beard last year, before I started this blog. They have served me so well, I had to do a pattern review so you too can stay extra warm this winter.

Finished Product

(For my Houston peeps, I’m sorry, but maybe you can use some really thin yarn to pretend you’re cold ;-D). I call them pop-overs because when I described them to a non-knitter that word was the best way to explain it – and it stuck.

I chose this color because I knew white and other lighter colors would get nasty fast and I would have a devil of a time knitting a darker color. It took me about three days to knit these mittens over the Christmas break. Granted, I had a lot of personal time to knit these up, but if you’re an intermediate knitter it should take you a week – two tops – if you only have a couple hours at a time to spend.

This was my first time knitting a functional knitting accessory. Instruction for the lace pattern is easy. I can’t recall having a problem with the first section. I found the thumb part a useful tutorial for my first pattern to set live stitches on a hook and continue knitting the rest. I could actually make sure these mittens fit while I was knitting them by sliding my hand in between the double-pointed needle round to get the best fit.

You can see the ribbing on the back

A note of confusion on the pattern: the ribbed pattern for the popovers. The way you knit up the pop-over part is NOT the same for each mitten as stated on the pattern. It could be if you know exactly how you’re project is supposed to look while knitting in progress; but if you are blindly following the pattern (like I was), the way you pick up the stitches and start knitting the rib does matter. I ended up knitting the rib in the back and as my picture shows, the inside brim is rolled up a little. But it works and I don’t mind (as much) anymore.

As always, I made a pattern adjustment. I decided to close the thumb because I thought it was dumb to be able to cover your fingers but leave your coldest digit uncovered. Thumbs don’t have finger friends to help keep warm!

Well-loved

Below is the change I made to the thumb:

(I had an eighth of an inch of my thumb peeking out at this point)
K2, K2Tog* (*repeat)
K1, K2tog, K2
K1, K2tog, K1
K2tog (1 stitch left over)
Slip yarn through leftover stitch to finish.

I’m so glad I wrote down and saved this part! It was almost a year ago that I made it. It pays to be so organized :-D

Bopping to the next knitting project,
-Stacy C.

2 Responses to “These Pop-Overs are for Wearing, NOT Eating”

  1. Arianna Zaldivar January 3, 2012 at 7:41 PM #

    I really prize your piece of work, Great post.

  2. Kyle Margaris January 3, 2012 at 8:39 PM #

    I adore looking through and I think this website got some truly useful stuff on it! .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

