Better Than an Amusement Park

23 May

Hello my fellow fiber lovers,

I know it’s been a while. I’ve had to work weeks on end with very few days off and that meant either my knitting/crochet suffered or the blog. I know you’ll understand why I chose the way I did. ;)

I decided to take a break and I just had to let you know how my first fiber “festival” went! It was a land of wool and yarn-ness. But before I get ahead of myself I have to tell you the company I kept was so GREAT! I went down with three other people from one of my local revelry meet-ups. Two guys and two girls. That’s right, GUYS went along (one was a man and woman married couple! Talk about mates for life :-D). It’s so great to have mixed company who love something as passionately as you do. I learned about the crochet “flip” (blog post soon about that one).

When we got there I was please at how many booths and different types of wares available. I was so over stimulated I kept walking around half finishing what I was saying and ping ponging between booths. It was quite humorous for my friends. We even met up with more people from our group who decided to spend a couple of days at the festival (I would have exploded).

The Score

If you ever get the chance to check out a fiber event, I highly encourage you to do so. It was a great atmosphere, I learned about a lot of great small yarn making companies, how yarn is made, how to make yarn AND there was more lamb than a Greek wedding! To be fair, not all the yarn I got from my excursion was for me. And in all of the yarn excitement, my group is doing a KAL (Knit-A-Long) this July. Stay tuned.

Working on my lace tutorial,
-Stacy C.

One Response to “Better Than an Amusement Park”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hard Lesson Learned « theyarnfix - July 16, 2012

    [...] using your hands. Funny story how I learned the limits of hand winding. As you know, I went to a festival and bought some lovely local yarns. Well, most of them were not wound and I decided I would wind [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

