Sometimes, you Just Have to Start Over

19 Apr

The title is so froth with possibilities. But I’m going to focus on one (maybe two).

As you can tell, the last couple of days with my blog have been a little weird. I decided to scroll back to a basic domain and presence here to refocus what I want to share and how I want to create. I want to be more intentional.

The last year has been one full of change, experience and long to-do lists. I’m grateful for the shift in my life, it’s much needed and eye opening. Because of new life demands, this means my creative endeavors must be more focused – which I think will be a good thing. It means deciding what’s important enough to spend my time on and not just another project to keep me busy. Before, I wanted to make everything that came to my mind and share it with you. Not so much now. I still get these brain worms that won’t go away. But instead of just tackling them I think, step-back and tinker. I hope you like the new direction.

A pile of once was.

A pile of once was.

Which brings me to my first share: complete projected frogging (You know, rip the whole thing out? As in countless hours are all wound up in a big ‘ol pile?!). It’s not as horrible as it reads. Yes, from me, the one who got over perfectionist tendencies to accept a project for the beauty they are without being exact to the pattern. But have you ever been 95% done and just didn’t like the way it looked? I used to finish and be proud of the end result, which is still a good thing. But there are times I want to enjoy my projects more, not just live with it when I know I could do better. I finally did that the other day – twice.

Yep, I was making the Triangle Cowl 2.0 and was on the finishing row, 1/4 of the way done and told myself, “Nope, those 15 mistakes are gross, you can do better. Don’t just finish for finishing’s sake.” Undone it went. Then, I was tinkering with a table runner design idea. It was looking ugly and I was not gonna persevere. This was all within a couple of days of each other. And oddly enough, I wasn’t freaking out about it. Sometimes the process and refining a skill is more than upping the number of completed objects in your Ravelry project page.

 

2 Responses to “Sometimes, you Just Have to Start Over”

  1. CrochetConcupiscence (@CrochetBlogger) April 21, 2014 at 1:38 PM #

    Love your changes. Love your intentionality. Love your frogging.

    • theyarnfix April 22, 2014 at 12:55 AM #

      Lol. Thanks! Validating to read change is good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 271 other followers

