Wait, What am I Supposed to do?!

6 Feb

Scenario: You’re knitting along, trying to get your pattern done. But wait, what’s this?! What is this kfb? How does it look and how do I do it? And it’s 10 p.m. What am I supposed to do????!!!!

Yeah, that’s been me, many times. Honestly, if I didn’t figure out ways to get over these knitting humps, I wouldn’t have stayed with knitting. If you’re anything like me, and it’s 2 a.m., and you’re trying to find answers, I hope this helps.

What should you do? Here are a couple of suggestions for resources.

Find other knitters – Go ahead, bond with knitters that are complete strangers. Don’t be afraid to say something to a stranger who is brave enough to knit in public. Just be sure you’re not scary when you introduce yourself to a knitting comrade ;-).

Also, look for a community to become a part of, find a knitting group to join. Ravelry.com is a great place to find groups in your area if you don’t already know some people. The groups that you find located in your area are usually groups that get together in person. I’ve had a great time getting really involved in a couple and I have definitely been encouraged, tutored and praised along my knitting route.

One resource that doesn’t always come to mind is YouTube. I read the way to do a stitch and sometimes I don’t always get it. When it’s a stitch with a lot of steps I have to see it. My favorite YouTube knitting guru is Staci from Very Pink Knits. She’s a certified master knitter who has the best angles, explanations and stitch speed.

Simply type in the knitting and the stitch shorthand (ex. knitting + kfb) and videos will pop up giving you different vantage shots and advice.

Last, but not least, don’t be afraid to ask people who know more than you. Check out your local non-chain yarn store, many have classes, group and all have knowledgeable staff. I highly recommend the small businesses over the chains because I’ve made the rookie mistake of asking for help on knowing the difference between yarn weights and no one knew what I was asking. (One woman said she was a crocheter and not a knitter, that makes no difference when it comes to yarn weight.)

Don’t be afraid what time of day it is when you need help, it’s always at your finger tips and no excuse not to keep knitting on!

-Stacy

One Response to “Wait, What am I Supposed to do?!”

  1. supermedia.com January 14, 2014 at 9:28 AM #

    Great items from you, man. I have bear in mind your stuff previous to and you are simply extremely great.

    I really like what you’ve acquired right here, really like what
    you’re saying and the best way by which you assert it. You’re making it enjoyable and you continue to care for to keep it smart.
    I can not wait to read far more from you. That is really a wonderful web site.

Leave a Reply

