I’m a Knitting Cheater and I’m Ready to Confess

21 Aug

The title says it all, folks. I’m a knitter, truly, I haven’t been faking. Heck, remember my knitting pilgrimage? That was a wonderful experience – no, life changing.

But I’ve strayed, some might say it was bound to happen. Others, I was too devoted and I set myself up. Whatever the reason, I’m willing to share with you the other hobby that has been taking my attention – cardmaking.

I know, it’s nothing sordid (as one might hope) but it’s true, I love making cards. I also love buying cardmaking supplies. It’s a combination of things, I have a co-worker who is so devoted and gets my obsession; it’s super hot and wool is just something you don’t want to handle on 100+ weather days; and the allure of color combinations gets to me.

Take a look for yourself, how could you not feel the same way?

Granted, it does help that making these cards takes me less time than knitting something. It’s great in the gratification of getting several done in one night. But I love how my knitted things and handmade cards can literally go hand-in-hand as gifts!

I know that most crafters have more than one love. I know I’m not alone in this “affair” scenario. I did feel a little guilty going crazy over cardmaking, almost a little fickle. It made me think, “Is this one of those things where I’m really into it for a year, year-and-a-half but then I move on to the next thing?” After some thought, I decided that’s not the case at all. I’ve just learned to love something else than can be an extension of my first big hobby.

But did I mentioned I’ve also started picking crochet back up? Umm…

Tell me what your craft loves are – do you have multiple partners? Feel free to confess on my comments. No judgement in this non-AA scene.

Livin’ la vida loca,
-Stacy C.

3 Responses to “I’m a Knitting Cheater and I’m Ready to Confess”

  1. NancyB August 21, 2011 at 10:03 PM #

    LOVE the sock monkey card! yes, you have to have diverse interests or you will burn out. i love to read books other than knitting pattern books (just finished The Help, now reading another…..), really enjoy cooking, baking, cultivating flowers (yeah, well, when that actually works!). i took up stain glass several years ago, which is much like quilting. widen your focus – it brings freshness to your passions. good article, Stacy…

    • theyarnfix August 22, 2011 at 8:51 PM #

      Cultivating flowers? Is that like flower breeding? Stain glass, wow. Maybe I can get u to make me a lamp 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Little Card Art « theyarnfix - July 20, 2012

    […] know I don’t normally post pictures of my other hobby (card making) on this blog. I did this one time last year, and didn’t really expect to again. BUT I’m kinda mad at the whole […]

Leave a Reply

